Brace and Bars - Options and Opinions

Stanley

1st Gear Poster
Vehicle Details
1997 Thunderbird 4.6L V8
Country flag
I'm new to car mechanics so forgive me if this is obvious, and don't assume I know any basic thing in your replies because I'm at the "car go vroom" stage of automotive knowledge.

I have a 97 Tbird with the Sport package and want to have the suspension rebuilt. Towards that, I'm browsing the SCP website and he has a lot of different braces for sale:

Rear torsional load brace
Front subframe suspension support brace
Front subframe lower engine cradle brace
Pinion brace
Rear anti-sway bar
Front anti-sway bar

And I've seen pictures of braces running through the trunk

As I understand it, braces and bars both make your suspension stiffer, which is good for performance-oriented handling but comes at a cost to your cushy ride. As this is a daily driver and my wife loves what she calls the "living room on wheels" feel that the Thunderbird has, are any of these recommended? I'm wondering if any one or two would be considered such an improvement to handling or reducing strain on other components or some other factor I don't know about that people would say they're worth getting even for pleasure rides: I'm willing to give up a little bit of squish for a lot of handling or reliability. As I understand it, it's all trade-offs, but with no practical experience I can't really say how much and in what way. Thanks.

It is a bit of a balancing act - adding a brace adds mass to a car which many feel is already too heavy. Old, worn-out shocks and bushings can make it easy to confuse floaty suspension with chassis flex, so a full suspension rebuild (just say NO! to ebay kits, lol) is definitely a good place to start, though you're probably running into the same problem many of us are fighting: no great options for front shocks!