Cam position sensor

I was afraid this might be the issue, I'm a total noob when it comes to wiring issues, I don't even have a voltmeter. :sad: Dan, are you talking about doing live data?

Yes .. without knowing what the PCM is actually reading or what the signal looks like at the connector, it's more of a guessing game with the PCM swap.

Nothing we can't guide you through, but without a volt meter at minimum; you can't do a whole lot except a visual, wiggle test or a heat gun test.

Best would be a test light for determining if the wiring between sensor and PCM is up to par if you can rig something up .. a volt meter may confirm continuity of the wire but not its ability to handle amperage. A light bulb would give you a better idea .. dim light = bad wiring. Least you can do is check the connector for corrosion and if any is present it is usually wicked up the wiring.

Joe, I might have an older spare Snap-On Vantage graphing multimeter I could lend your way if you think that might help, let me know.

With decent weather on the horizon, I think it's time to get moving on this. I'm thinking of starting with getting a spare EEC and try that and see what happens with the code. Poking around on eBay, I've found a few for around $80 shipped. It looks like there's 2 catch codes for the 3.8 and both seem to be available. I don't think that's a problem, is it?! :unsure:

Joe

Joe, Charlies down in dayton tn has 3 cars in stock 75 bux.What is your catch code?

It being a 97 worries me, I had a 97 fail the trans controls. If you buy one a 96 might be a better option. Crap, I forgot about MA emissions. The ones from here would Not pass, lol.

You should be fine with any 96/97 PCM. You only need to worry about CA emissions PCMs going into CA cars. When they test for emissions here in OH they just check to be sure the diagnostic monitors are all complete and there are no DTCs. Can't be too different in MA... :unsure: